Praise God From Whom All Blessings Flow


Blessings? you might be asking. Did I not hear about the earthquake in Japan — on top of the ones they’ve already had? And the ensuing tidal wave (when did we decide not to use the English term in favor of the Japanese tsunami?)

Or how about the ongoing fighting in Libya, the drop in the Dow Jones yesterday, a continuing increase in gas prices (though the oil companies have yet to refine any of the high-priced oil), and an unexpected rise in the number of people filing for unemployment.

Well, actually I did hear about it all, and more. Tsunami warnings went out all up and down the West Coast, so I not only heard, I had friends who evacuated their homes as a precaution. I’ve heard from former missionaries to Japan giving a report about the friends they left behind, and anxiously waiting to hear about others.

I’ve also read Facebook notes that continue on with the trivial as if there hasn’t been a devastating event that is affecting thousands of people. Party time, now that Friday’s here. Or, How devastating that they ran out of my color of lipstick.

I’ve read snarky comments about books in a particular genre. Thing is, the writer followed those with an admission that he didn’t read Christian fiction. At all.

I’ve also been dealing with a commenter who said, “I think you are confusing your personal opinions or your religion with your politics, and the founding fathers you talk about didn’t want to have the two paths cross.” So now Christians are not to speak about politics because our religion informs our beliefs?

So where are these blessings we’re supposed to praise God for?

Seeing the wind, he became frightened, and beginning to sink, he cried out, "Lord, save me!"

That’s easy. Instead of looking at the swirling wind whipping around me, I need to look into the face of Jesus,

the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. For consider Him who has endured such hostility by sinners against Himself, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.
– Hebrew 12:2-3

Second, I need to look in His word. There I see reality:

Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow.
– James 1:17

Which leads to number three. I need to remember the truth about God: His faithfulness; His sovereign control as He works His purposes through the events of the day, just as He did in Joseph’s day when he was thrown into prison for refusing to commit adultery; His Holy Spirit living in us; His preparation of the place where we believers have our citizenship; His Son’s sure and soon return, sooner today than yesterday.

And fourth, I can enjoy what God has given me today. A list would be too long, but let’s start with the obvious: another day of life, food to eat, clothes to wear, a place to live.

One more thing, though it is a part of looking at God’s word — He gave us the Earthquake Psalm. Well, that’s what I call it. 😀 It’s actually just the first three verses of Psalm 46:

God is our refuge and strength,
A very present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change
And though the mountains slip into the heart of the sea;
Though its waters roar and foam,
Though the mountains quake at its swelling pride.

In reality, these verses say God gave us Himself.

I’d say that means blessings aren’t trickling down.

They flow!

Published in: on March 11, 2011 at 3:55 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,