Dread Champion


jeweled swordLots going on and not much time, but I wanted to pass on this very cool phrase. Novelist Brandilyn Collins first drew my attention to “dread champion”: a phrase used for God in the New American Standard version of the Bible.

It’s found in Jeremiah 20. The prophet was going through a period of time when he didn’t want to keep telling the people what God said. He tried to stay silent and couldn’t but as a result the people, even his friends, turned on him.

So here’s the context and here’s the verse:

Because for me the word of the LORD has resulted
In reproach and derision all day long.
But if I say, “I will not remember Him
Or speak anymore in His name,”
Then in my heart it becomes like a burning fire
Shut up in my bones;
And I am weary of holding it in,
And I cannot endure it.
For I have heard the whispering of many,
“Terror on every side!
Denounce him; yes, let us denounce him!”
All my trusted friends,
Watching for my fall, say:
“Perhaps he will be deceived, so that we may prevail against him
And take our revenge on him.”
But the LORD is with me like a dread champion;
Therefore my persecutors will stumble and not prevail.
They will be utterly ashamed, because they have failed,
With an everlasting disgrace that will not be forgotten.(8b-11)

ESV uses the term “dread warrior” and the NIV says “mighty warrior.”

The implication is clear—Even when we are not faithful, God is. He fights for those who are His.

I like that picture of God. May we go in the strength of our Dread Champion, He who is the Everlasting God, the LORD, the Creator of the ends of the earth, who does not become weary or tired.

Published in: on August 20, 2014 at 6:40 pm  Comments Off on Dread Champion  
Tags: , ,