Well, I’m Back


At least I think so. The Christmas holidays are not the ideal time to have computer problems, but God is sovereign and worked in some amazing ways.

First, my wonderful tech guy (he is a keeper) finally concluded that the continuing problems were a result of the hard drive—not something I wanted to hear. In the process of finding the number of the company I’d used before when my old computer crashed, I found documentation about Apple Care that is, among other things, an extended warranty, one that would run out in twenty-five days.

I called the number provided and was able to set up an appointment for the earliest open slot, which happened to be the next afternoon (Wednesday before Christmas). Despite a lengthy search for a parking spot in the packed mall lot which put me into the Apple store late, I was still on the appointment list and met a tech after a minute wait.

He confirmed the problem with my drive, then after looking up some info said the silver lining in this situation (and I’m thinking, The silver lining is that I found out about the problem before the warranty ran out!) is that they don’t make my drive (165 GB, I think) any more and he’ll have to give me a 320 GB drive instead.

The drive needed to be ordered, so he told me, with the holidays, to expect four to six days before I’d have my computer. The day after Christmas, I got a call that my computer was ready.

Finding a parking place that day was probably the hardest part of the entire ordeal.

The next issue, still being resolved, is getting my data back onto my computer. It’s coming.

I’m sorry I missed the Digital Dragon Magazine tour, and I look forward to reading what others who participated thought.

Published in: on January 2, 2010 at 11:45 am  Comments (7)