Creative Blog Buzz—Book Buzz, Part 6

From what I can glean, there is one other powerful attention getter that will have people talking about your books: your creative use of blogging.

This first example I want to share wasn’t started by blogging, however. I’m referring to something I just received word about from Donita Paul:

We are pleased to bring you news that this week on Wednesday, January 16, people around the country will be celebrating Appreciate a Dragon Day! What is this strange holiday, you ask?

Several years ago when DragonSpell first came out, Mrs. Paul was reading a book about how to market your book. One of the suggestions was to register a new holiday. So she registered Appreciate a Dragon Day, or AADD.

Just recently we Googled AADD. SHOCK! It’s all over the place! Mrs. Paul sent emails to many of the people and places that have given it a boost. It was not only a publicity ploy, but something that is dear to her heart: promoting literacy.

Check out the DragonKeeper website’s AADD Event Page to get more details on this interesting holiday and some suggestions on how to celebrate. Some of these ways include making a dragon kite, a dragon cake, a dancing dragon toy, putting on a dragon puppet show, and many more fun ideas!

Of course, if every author ran out and created a holiday tie-in to his book, this would soon get old hat. The key is doing something new.

I was reading over at Michael Hyatt’s blog From Where I Sit, as I regularly do, and from his totally unrelated post about the history of Thomas Nelson Publishers, I got what I think is a new idea for blog buzz. Mr. Hyatt mentioned that Thomas Nelson, Sr., when he first tried to sell his “affordable books for common folks,” had trouble with other booksellers boycotting them. His solution was to hold book fairs.

My thought was, Why not on-line Book Fairs? I mean, several authors could get together and hold such a one day fair, with books discounted and the number limited. Maybe a button could be created, and required to be posted by bloggers for them to be eligible to order books at the fair. Those are just ideas off the top of my head (and I wish I had a book I wanted to buzz about so I could get a fair going. I think it would be fun!)

The thing is, there are lots of ideas out there. If you want to start buzz about your book, think of what unique things connect to your story. Think of actual book events that might be translated into virtual book events. And make them fun, for you and for those you would like to involve. 😀

Published in: on January 15, 2008 at 11:35 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , ,

6 Comments

  1. Virtual Book Fair….I like it! I like it!!! Keep the great ideas coming Becky!!

    Kim

    PS Any ideas about how to make a buzz when an author sends you some books to blog and give away? (Separate from any group I’m a part of) This just happened to me and I’m frantically trying to figure out how to create this buzz you are talking about!

    Like

  2. Appreciate A Dragon Day? WooHoo!!! Color me ON the bandwagon. At least if I still remember tomorrow. 😛

    Like

  3. I’ve already received my first picture to put on the web for next year from an AADD enthusiast. Life is crazy, isn’t it?

    Like

  4. Kim, I’m not sure if you’re saying this author friend has given you x-number of copies of the same title to pass along or of different titles. Contests are ALWAYS good. The key is to tell people about the contest and either give plenty of advance notice and/or make it easy to enter, more like a raffle, with the tickets costing a dime.

    Valerie, I just googled the holiday, too, and found places where you can even get AADD cards! Now that is cool.

    Donita, it was just such a great example of the Be Creative concept. Your newsletter was timely! 😉

    Becky

    Like

  5. I celebrated ADD over at my blog and on Facebook today; I just couldn’t resist. 😛 (And I still got *most* of my day’s goals met besides…)

    Like

  6. Hi Rebecca, I’ve just enjoyed looking through your site. (I’m another fantasy author–Canadian.) Is there a way of officially registering a new holiday, or requesting that a new holiday be instituted? Rae

    Like


Comments are closed.