CFBA Tour – The Sword

The Sword by Bryan Litfin (Crossway), one of the current Christian Fiction Blog Alliance (CFBA) features, is a unique fantasy. It contains elements of classic fantasy, but the story is set on earth, in the future. Intrigued? I was.

The Story. War decimated earth and brought on a nuclear winter that nearly wiped out the human race. Four hundred years later, a noble but primitive civilization has developed in a land known as Chiveis. Almost everything about the “Ancients” has been forgotten, including Christianity. However Teofil, a young scholar and Royal Guard captain, and Anastasia, the young woman he’s rescued from Outsiders who kidnapped her and carried her to the Beyond, discover a copy of the Ancients’ sacred writings.

The narrative and poems introduce a handful of family and friends to the Good God who contrasts with the four Chiveisi gods that rule by fear and displays of power.

The High Priestess of the most potent of these gods determines to keep the religion of the cross from coming to Chiveis.

And there I’ll stop.

Strengths. Without a doubt, Bryan Litfin has a winning premise. He’s cleverly married a dystopian/futuristic novel with traditional fantasy. Those who favor the former may not find enough here to keep them excited, but those of us who prefer the latter have all the sword play and horseback riding we can want, along with some intriguing futuristic/dystopian elements such as a discovery of the remains of iron carriages and the ruins of ancient cities.

This unique genre blend also gives a fresh look at Christianity. Teofil, the young scholar, must translate the Sacred Writings for his friends who do not read the Fluid Tongue. He finds sections with names such as Beginnings, Departure, Magistrates, First and Second Histories, Hymns, and Maxims. As they read portions at a time, they begin to formulate ideas about the Good God.

For the most part, the story is unpredictable. There are some interesting surprises, some questions left unanswered, some disappointments that mirror real life.

Weaknesses. While there is much to like in this book and I am thrilled that Crossway has ventured into fantasy, I wish there were fewer problems. Characterization was not strong. At times the action seemed almost cartoonish, with devastating injuries having little or else unusually short effect.

Character motivation was a problem. Why did Ana so quickly and unswervingly turn from the gods of Chiveis to the Good God Deu? Why did Valant spurn his wife? Why did Lewth turn from what he had believed was the task Deu had given him? Why did Habiloho reject the path she’d been on for over a year? Too many such questions kept the story from being what it could be.

Then too, the characters seem to reach accurate conclusions about the Good God fairly quickly, something that is surprising in light of the fact that they have only known evil gods up to this time, and they have only read a small portion of the Sacred Writings.

But the biggest problem, in my opinion, was theological. Whenever a book is set in this world, a Christian author, if he addresses spiritual things, must be faithful to Scripture. While The Sword apparently is primed to do so, Mr. Litfin took an interesting but damning turn: he had the last third of the Sacred Writings unreadable. Consequently, the characters who are learning about the Good God, do so without any knowledge of His Son.

It’s an interesting twist, but the problem is the apparent relationship a number of the characters develop with the Good God, including two who die. Yet the Sacred Writings which are true and would be true in the future, too, say that the Good God’s Son is the Way, the Truth, the Life and that no man comes to His Father but through Him—the Son that these characters do not know.

It’s a huge problem and one that has serious ramifications for the real world if you believe those ignorant of the Son can still come to the Father. Why then did Jesus die?

Recommendation. I’m glad I read The Sword. I’m glad Crossway published it. I think fantasy lovers will enjoy the story. I think those who care about the Truth will question why a man with Mr. Litfin’s theological background (he’s got a masters degree from Dallas Theological Seminary and is a professor in the Theology Department at Moody Bible Institute) would write something so misleading. While I’d like to give this one an enthusiastic endorsement, instead I have to give it a tepid nod primarily for those who love fantasy.

Published in: on April 21, 2010 at 5:02 pm  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , ,

11 Comments

  1. Val Comer had mentioned that characterization was a problem. But she found the scripture part to be preachy.

    I liked how your review mentioned that the people came to know the True God quickly. While I’m concerned about the theology, I wonder if he set things up for a sequel.

    Like

  2. Hi, Chris, I just read Val’s review, too. I hadn’t thought of The Sword being preachy. I found the Scripture quotes and the discussions to be natural, if the characters actually would be committed with so little knowledge. They just knew things or believed things about God that I don’t think they would actually know or would only believe in a tenuous way.

    One of the other reviews I read mentioned something I forgot. There were a lot of contemporary phrases in the dialogue where it would have been more appropriate to have something that fit their culture. I can’t think of one now, but it would be like, Give me a high five. Maybe nothing that obvious, but a few were pretty close.

    I wondered about whether Mr Litfin was setting things up, too. I mean he purposefully had then NOT have the New Testament. But the problem was the two characters who died with comments about them now being with Deu. I wondered how they knew about life after death, given their sparse reading, but the implication was clear that they were saved. And the main characters have clear interaction with God, similar to the way many people describe “hearing” the Holy Spirit. He comforts them, guides them.

    All without them knowing Jesus? It bothers me!

    Becky

    Like

  3. Hi guys — thanks for the reviews. Seriously, I appreciate it, even the critical remarks. Those points are fair and well-thought-out. It’s true that I did do less character development in some places. I made a conscious decision to lean toward the swashbuckling. That’s what this book was from the beginning — not a relational drama, but a man’s adventure story. Some of the lesser characters’ motivations are not detailed, because if I had done that, there would have been fewer flying arrows and sword fights and galloping horses. Know what I mean?

    On the point about people going to heaven apart from Jesus, you are right, the quest for Jesus is reserved for the next book. I had a Trinitarian structure in mind for the trilogy in which the characters discover the One True God, then Christ, then the Spirit in the church. So I just wanted to save something for later. I don’t think anybody can get to heaven apart from Christ, and this wasn’t some statement about other world religions providing the way to heaven or something like that. Rather, I had the idea that in this strange and unique future world when people can clearly come to know the one true God of the Bible, and yet it’s impossible for them to know the name “Jesus,” that God would look into their hearts and judge them by their faith response and “reckon it as righteousness.” So that was my thinking on that.

    Well, thank you for spending some time in Chiveis. Any time people read my work, it’s an honor. You don’t have to like everything about it. Hopefully it uplifted you in some small way.

    Blessings,
    Bryan

    Like

  4. It’s funny–the two reviews that I read were written by women.

    Congratulations on your book, Bryan. It’s great to see such a lovely book being published by a Christian publishing house. There is such a need for Christian speculative fiction.

    May God bless your efforts!

    chris

    Like

  5. well, I’m a little confused. Is the book the Bible? If so, why do they call God Deu? It’s written in Latin, or something? Why are the sacred writings not named after books of the Bible if they are the biblical books?

    And if they are not biblical books then the God of that story world does not have to conform to the real God (of the Bible). I can see that he found Genesis, exodus, judges, first and second kings and chronicles (I guess) Psalms, proverbs. Why are these things named differently from the Bible?

    Second question is: If this is the Bible they found and this really is earth in the future, and I’m guessing it must be or you wouldn’t be upset over the theology…don’t you think there is enough in the OT for people to be saved? OT people were saved the same way NT people are saved. By the blood of Christ. But many of them did not know Christ. They looked forward to the coming Messiah. Can’t the people in the book who have only the OT also look to the Messiah even without knowing that he already came and died?

    very interesting stuff. I’d like to read this book.

    However…even a man’s book, if you’re still reading Mr. Litfin, should have characters that are well motivated. And it doesn’t take away from the battle scenes to take time to motivate characters. Read Lord of the Rings if you don’t believe me.

    Like

  6. I saw this book earlier this month and wanted to read it. Bryan’s premise is similar to Terry Brooks (Terry’s books take place in the far future of our world, a future where there is magic and the elves have come out of hiding).

    Like

  7. Well, I won’t jump in and try to answer everything here. I’m sure nobody would want that. But basically what the characters find is a French Bible in a Gothic cathedral on the Rhine. And so Deu is how they pronounce “Dieu.” They are real biblical books and I translated them very literally from the French, just as if somebody found this book and translated it as a “lost language.” That’s the idea there.

    It’s probably best not to pick the book apart too much. Like a good movie that sweeps you into another world, if you over-analyze it, you take away the joy. Just have fun with it. It’s not perfect. It’s not literature. I know that. But it is a breathless adventure, and I think we could use more of that in our lives!

    Best,
    Bryan

    Like

  8. well, hmmm. Thanks much for answering Mr. Litfin.

    I appreciate it.

    Maybe over-analyzing ruins the joy or reading. I’m not sure. I’m afraid most of us under-analyze rather than over-analyze.

    And I am sure that I never approach a book with a “Let’s just have fun with this” attitude. Oh no, I think that’s a deadly way to live. Stories communicate to us and we have to think critically about them, don’t you think?

    Breathless adventure? Yeah, breathless adventure is sometimes a good thing. It may be bad, too, though. It all depends on whether it refreshes or strengthens us as we trudge along the dusty path, I think.

    Anyway, I’m curious now, so that’s a good thing. Controversy sells books. 🙂

    Like

  9. Read it and see what you think. My email is bryan.litfin@gmail.com

    And call me Bryan. I’m just a dude with a laptop.

    Like

  10. Sally, I guess I didn’t explain the translation issue well enough. I thought it was clever that Teo translated the Fluid tongue and came up with Beginnings instead of Genesis. The two mean the same thing, so a translator wouldn’t know how it was “supposed” to be translated. That gave a ring of authenticity, I thought.

    But to your questions about the characters becoming Christians without knowing Christ. I’m really uncomfortable with the idea that people after Christ’s redemptive work could come to God apart from Christ. I don’t think that’s what the Bible teaches.

    At one point one of the characters, aware that Deu required a blood sacrifice, kills a lamb because of a sinful act.

    Bryan, I was fairly certain that, with your background, you weren’t trying to give a universalist message. I do think others could read the story that way, however. That’s the problem I have with stories set in the real world, no matter what the time frame. If God is part of the story, then the theology needs to square with Scripture, I think.

    Thanks for stopping by and interacting with us about the book an my review.

    I’ll say again, I’m thrilled that Crossway published a speculative story, and I hope your book exceeds their expectations.

    Becky

    Like

  11. Hi, Morgan. I appreciate you mentioning Terry Brooks. I haven’t read his work, so didn’t realize his premise was similar. When I started writing fantasy, I stopped reading it because I didn’t want to be “unduly influenced.” I didn’t know then that was the wrong thing to do. Unfortunately I lost out on some good stories. Trying to change that. 😉

    Becky

    Like


Comments are closed.