Should Christians Vote For Christians For President?

Marco_Rubio_August_22,_2015Not every person who professes to be a Christian is a Christian. That’s just a fact. Some have been raised in a culture of Christianity—their parents took them to Sunday school and church when they were little. Everyone they know goes to church at least a few times each year, and they have basic values that align with Christianity—they’re in the family values camp, in other words. They also read the Bible stories and probably have at least one Bible in their home.

But those behaviors do not define what it means to be a Christian.

Christians first and foremost are people who identify as sinners. Yep, sinners. Not people who do good or who are good. We actually know that we are not now, nor can we ever be, good enough to satisfy God’s standard. Because we admit who we are, we also have embraced the gift God has offered us—forgiveness for our sinful condition and the particular sins we commit. We recognize that God made forgiveness available to us because He accepted payment for our sins from His Son, Jesus.

Forgiveness affords us a lot of benefits. The greatest is a close relationship with God. We are adopted into His family, and His Spirit now lives within us, empowering us to “walk in a manner worthy” of our new family tie.

So as we grow and mature, we will take on more and more of the family traits—a sold-out love for God, love for each other, love for our neighbors, love for our enemies.

Some of the Presidential candidates say they are Christians; others say they are and act like they are by displaying the family traits.

In considering the question, should Christians vote for Christians for President, I think it’s clear that no one should vote for someone just because he claims to be a Christian. It’s too easy to say the words, even the right words, and none of us can see what another person’s actual relationship with God is like.

However, we can see the family resemblance.

Of course, being a Christian isn’t the only concern when it comes to deciding who to vote for. The President has to be a leader, and not all Christians are leaders. He or she needs to be a good judge of character because the President has to put together a Cabinet and make any number of appointments. He needs to know how government works and needs to understand foreign policy.

If all these things are in place, should it matter if the candidate is a Christian?

I think so.

No candidate is going to be perfect. None will have exactly the same ideas on every issue that I have. None will always make the right decisions or listen to the advice I wish he’d listen to. What counts in the end is that he is a person of integrity and that he lives out his faith. Yep, lives it out. I actually got that idea from Florida Sen. Marco Rubio who answered a question from an atheist during one of his town halls in Iowa before that caucus.

Below is the video of that exchange. It’s influenced my thinking on this question.

Published in: on February 26, 2016 at 6:10 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,

4 Comments

  1. I’m so disappointed in the top 3 candidates. Last night’s debate was more like a verbal brawl. Each day more of their speaking time seems to be spent bashing the other candidates rather than telling the people about their plans and strategies. I’ve lost respect for them. I’m so ready for the two guys on the far ends to lead the country.

    Like

    • Sheryl, I’ve thought about this. No doubt Donald Trump has lowered the bar when it comes to substance in his talks and answers to questions. He’s a bully. Generally, though, if no authority steps in and stops a bully, those he’s pushing around have to stand up to him. I think that’s all Ted Cruz and Marco Rubio were doing.

      My question is, when are you answering a fool in kind? In other words, how far do you go? I thought what they said was appropriate rebuttal of Mr. Trump’s bombast. He needs to be stopped in my opinion.

      The exchanges between the three weren’t what I’d like to see, but I think they were what the situation called for. Otherwise Donald Trump simply bulldozes the other candidates out of his way.

      Becky

      Like

  2. Hi Becky

    I remember seeing that. He did very well I thought. I know some have criticized Rubio for sort of religion hopping, though. I still thought that was well done. I also have great respect for his pro life position, as he seems to have the firmest stance of all of the candidates. He has flat out said he won’t change his stand just to get elected. Which means, of course, that he won’t get elected. But, I like him a lot. Wasted vote perhaps, but possibly one that will fit my conscience.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree, Wally. I also watched a video on YouTube in which Sen. Rubio told about his spiritual journey, from childhood to the present. He hasn’t done as much religion hopping as it might seem, I don’t think. Most important, he was very clear about who Jesus is and about forgiveness of sins. That made this video all the more powerful, I thought, because it’s clear he believes Scripture.

    I’m thinking every vote for him matters, if only to show that he’s gaining traction so that more people will take notice.

    Becky

    Like


Comments are closed.

