A Musical Interlude

Song writers and musicians Keith and Kristyn Getty

Song writers and musicians Keith and Kristyn Getty


From time to time I’ve discussed what I perceive to be problems with the music portion of worship in many churches, and of late that includes my own.

Instead of breaking down the problems again or elaborating or pointing out particulars that seem inconsistent with a service intended to glorify God and edify believers, I thought I’d post a video which shows the kind of music I would like to see more of. It’s contemporary and it’s Biblical. It focuses on God and His work. It is musically the kind of song lay people can sing. And it is theologically on target, requiring people to think even as they worship.

Honestly, I think I could have posted any song from the Gettys’ hymn collection and said essentially what I wrote above. Their music is that good. I invite you to see for yourself, and then check out their YouTube channel.

Published in: on September 16, 2015 at 5:00 pm  Comments (16)  
Tags: , , ,

16 Comments

  1. Nice selection. I tend to like Urban contemporary myself but I do see a lot of issues with some of the contemporary stuff. I remember I was in the car listening to a number of songs each behind the other and the singers were like, “JUMP UP AND DOWN!” “SCREAM!” “MAKE SOME NOISE!” “STAND ON YOUR HEAD!” “DO IT AGAIN!” and I remember thinking, “You don’t have to always manufacture an atmosphere. The Spirit of the Lord will do that. I remember recently at my old church, one of the mothers, whose father had started the church, sang. She’s an older woman, white hair, sick, and couldn’t walk. She sang the song “The Blood Will Never Lose It’s Power”. No music or accompaniment and let me tell you EVERYBODY nearly jumped out their seats. Her voice was deep and rich and carried all over the sanctuary. We were hollering up a storm.

    Got off tangent there! Thanks for the post.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Parker, I think your illustration is perfect. People can’t manufacture the work of the Spirit, and we shouldn’t be trying. What really ends up happening is a manipulation of emotions. I don’t think God’s in that.

      Becky

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh…..they are the bomb! Great Hymns yet relevant today. My favorite is In Christ Alone. That is actually going to be what my Friday morning post it built around provided I actually get it finished LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    • If I have my facts straight, “In Christ Alone” was actually their first contemporary hymn. It says it all. Such a strong, Biblical, God honoring song. But I discovered a host of others I didn’t even know they’d written!

      Becky

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think you are correct on that Becky

        Like

  3. Reblogged this on Talmidimblogging.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for the recommendation! I looked them up and am listening to them right now! Such powerful and sincere worship songs. I need to suggest these for worship sometime. 🙂
    Squid

    Liked by 2 people

    • So happy to share them with you! For me, music is powerful. It does something in my soul. But I forget sometimes and don’t spend time listening to the kind of music that feeds my heart. Theirs does. So I’m only too happy to recommend them to others.

      Becky

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Live their music too. And have you heard Gregory Wilbur’s hymns?

    Like

    • Oops, that was supposed to read “LOVE their music.” And you can Wilbur’s music online too.

      Like

    • I haven’t heard Wilbur’s hymns. Thanks so much for the heads up, Kathy. I’ll go check them out (and I knew you meant “love” 😉 ).

      Becky

      Like

  6. This was beautiful. Thanks for introducing me to this group. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I ditto so many thanking you for introducing me to the Getty’s music. The words are Biblical and music is musical!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well put, Jacqueline. I’d add, they are also contemporary and feel fresh. At least they seem so to me. I love the old hymns, but I love new ones too.

      Becky

      Like

  8. I love the Gettys. They excel at the “contemporary hymn” – it’s something they feel very passionate about and have put a lot of time and prayer into each song they write. And the Celtic lilt is lovely, too….

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s apparent, I think, LA that they are prayerful as well as hard working at their craft. The lyrics are so God honoring, so uplifting. And yes, the Celtic lilt gives their music a wonderful freshness.

      Becky

      Liked by 1 person


Comments are closed.

