Hearing God’s Voice

Shepherd_on_the_way_to_Hampta_PassToday InsanityBytes posted an article entitled “God Said??” and it reminded me of a video I saw some time ago. In a busy town, perhaps in the Middle East, cars zoomed down the street. On one side stood a shepherd and on the other a small flock of sheep. When there was a small break in traffic, he would call and one sheep would cross to him. The others stayed where they were, though sheep are notorious followers. When there was another break between cars, then another, he would call again and again. One by one those sheep crossed to him, presumably when he called specifically to each one in turn.

I went to YouTube hoping to find the video, but alas, I didn’t come across it. Perhaps I saw it at church. At any rate, I did find a few other clips that show the responsiveness of sheep to their shepherd’s voice. It’s pretty impressive. The first one brings this passage of Scripture to mind:

he who enters by the door is a shepherd of the sheep. To him the doorkeeper opens, and the sheep hear his voice, and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he puts forth all his own, he goes ahead of them, and the sheep follow him because they know his voice. A stranger they simply will not follow, but will flee from him, because they do not know the voice of strangers. (John 10:2-5)

The second one reminds me of the parable Jesus told about leaving the 99 sheep to find the one that is lost:

“What do you think? If any man has a hundred sheep, and one of them has gone astray, does he not leave the ninety-nine on the mountains and go and search for the one that is straying? If it turns out that he finds it, truly I say to you, he rejoices over it more than over the ninety-nine which have not gone astray. So it is not the will of your Father who is in heaven that one of these little ones perish. (Matt. 18:12-14)

Not that the shepherd in this next video has to go looking for one of his sheep. Rather, it seems so clear that any sheep not hearing the shepherd could go wondering off. Then too, it appears a wandering sheep might draw away others from the flock:

I don’t know about you, but I am fascinated by sheep. They are so vulnerable, so timid, so prone to wander and so willing to follow, so in need of a shepherd. Watching them makes me understand in a new way why Scripture compares us to sheep so often. I could even see, after watching a few clips, why Jesus said He is the Good Shepherd, not just the Shepherd. There are some task-master cruel shepherds. But their sheep recognize their voice too. We really do respond to the one who owns us.

5 Comments

  1. Great post, Becky. Amazing about leading the sheep across the road! I believe it. My husband has been working for some people that have lots of sheep. It drives him crazy, he cannot get the sheep to do anything for him, but the moment the wife talks to them they obey instantly. He’s forced to carry and push sheep out of the way until she shows up to speak to them.

    Like

    • Thanks, IB. What a great example. I watched a number of other videos and it truly was amazing to see how responsive the sheep are to their own shepherd. But to experience it, as your husband has! Well, that really brings the truth home, doesn’t it?

      Becky

      Liked by 1 person

  2. We really do respond to the one who owns us.

    And right there is the slave mentality at work.

    Like

    • Well, in some ways you’re right, Tildeb. Christians recognize who made us, who has authority over us, but He calls us children, not slaves. There’s a big difference serving a loving Father than serving an indifferent, even cruel, task master.

      The truth is, we all serve someone—the government, our own sinful impulses, the urgent demands on our time, and so forth. None of us is king of the universe, doing only that which we want to do—though a number of humanists would like to believe we are.

      Christians aren’t forced into a relationship with God. Part of recognizing God for who He is, involves accepting Him as my Shepherd. It’s a realization that He knows things I don’t know, can do things I can’t do, and has my best interest at heart. I want that kind of person guiding me through life.

      I don’t know what will happen tomorrow. What if The Big One hits SoCal tomorrow and I’m crushed under the debris of my apartment building? I need a Good Shepherd who will get me through such a crisis. I know in advance that I am not alone, even when tragedy strikes and life is completely out of my control.

      It’s an illusion to think humans can get along without God.

      Becky

      Like

  3. […] our own failings, but if we are serious about our relationship with Him—if we truly want to hear His voice, we need to draw near to Him, as James says (“Resist the devil and he will flee from you. […]

    Like


Comments are closed.

