The Warden And The Wolf King – CSFF Tour, Day 1

Illustration by Andrew Peterson

Illustration by Andrew Peterson

The Warden And The Wolf King by Andrew Peterson is the fourth and final installment in the Wingfeather Saga. It’s a worthy conclusion to this wonderful series. Coming in at over 500 pages, you might even say it’s an epic ending. Not that length alone makes something epic, but that’s a discussion for another day.

First I want to offer an alternative title to this young adult fantasy—one I’d be surprised if Andrew Peterson didn’t consider. Half way through the book, which picks up the Wingfeather Saga right where The Monster In The Hollows left off, I thought, Shouldn’t the Song Maiden be in the title? I mean, it seemed at that point that the Song Maiden played as significant a part in the unfolding events as did the Warden and the Wolf King.

I eventually dismissed the idea, thinking The Warden, The Song Maiden, And The Wolf King might be too cumbersome a title. (Although, it would be right in line with book 1, On The Edge Of The Dark Sea Of Darkness. 😉 )

Since then, however, I thought, why not keep it simple? Why not The Jewels Of Anniera, the jewels being none other than the Song Maiden, the Warden, and the Wolf King. But alas, Andrew didn’t ask my advice, so I’m left, of necessity, to devote at least one post to song and the Song Maiden.

Since Andrew Peterson is a singer and song writer by day and a novelist in his “spare time,” it’s really no surprise that Song takes a prominent place in the story, starting with the inside of the book jacket which displays what I conclude to be the words of a song, since they are ascribed to Armulyn the Bard:

The world is whispering—listen child!—
The world is telling a tale.
When the seafoam froths in the water wild
Or the fendril flies in the gale.

When the sky is mad with the swirling storm
And thunder shakes the hall,
Child, keep watch for the passing form
Of the one who made it all.

Listen, child, to the hollish wind,
To the hush of heather down,
To the voice of the brook of the stony bend
And the Bells of Rysentown.

The dark of the heart is a darkness deep
And the sweep of the night is wide
And the pain of the heart when the people weep
Is an overwhelming tide. . .

The Bard himself played a part early in the Saga. According to the Encyclopedia of terms at the Wingfeather Saga website, the Bard is

a songwriter and singer known throughout Skree for his soul-stirring songs about Anniera. He claimed to have been there once in his youth, and sang about it ever since. Armulyn was famous for his bare feet, his raspy voice, his kindness, his rascally disposition toward Fangs and oppressors, and his sharp odor.

You’ve heard of fan fiction, I’m sure. But what about fan music? Andrew Peterson’s Wingfeather Saga, and particularly Armulyn the Bard inspired a soulful piece you may wish to hear.

The song inside the dust jacket is only a hint of what is to come inside the book. As it happens, music is a major aspect of the plot, and of course the star of much of it is the Song Maiden—Janner’s little sister, Leeli.

I’ll take this opportunity to mention that tomorrow, July 22, 2014, the official release party for The Warden And The Wolf King will take place in Nashville. I mention this because, among all the delightful happenings in this party that sounds like it really is a party, Andrew’s daughter Skye (the inspiration for Leeli Wingfeather) will be on hand to sing “My Love Has Gone Across the Sea” (from The Monster in the Hollows) with none other than the author himself. (You can see all the details for the party at the Wingfeather Saga site, and those in the Nashville area would be remiss if they didn’t attend.)

I’ll be honest. I’m trying to discuss song in The Warden And The Wolf King without giving any spoilers. The problem is, at every turn it seems impossible to discuss the use of music without saying too much.

In the end, the music of the book is much the same as the music of real life. It defeats doubt and darkness and the evil that would come against us. It summons beauty and power. It opens doors and heals hearts. It’s simply one of the greatest weapons a child of the true King has over the Evil One. And yet it takes a person of courage and conviction and perseverance to continue giving the music in the face of discouragement and exhaustion and fear, sometimes even despair.

Perhaps I should stop trying to explain what music means to this story and let the epigraph by George MacDonald say it for me:

“I dreamed of a song—I heard it sung;
In the ear of my soul its strange notes rung.
What were its words I could not tell,
Only the voice I heard right well,

A voice with a wild melodious cry
Reaching and longing afar and high.
Sorrowful triumph, and hopeful strife,
Gainful death, and new-born life. . .”

I’ll add one more tidbit. The use of song in this story reminded me of one of my favorite Bible verses:

He put a new song in my mouth,
A song of praise to our God;
Many will see and fear
And will trust in the LORD. (Psalm 40:3)

For me, the new song is actually a story, but how cool that for Andrew Peterson, his is a song and a story.

See what other participants in the CSFF Blog Tour for The Warden And The Wolf King are saying.

12 Comments

  1. Do you know who Armulyn the Bard is supposed to be?

    Like

    • Yes, I read it somewhere as I was poking around for the tour. I don’t know if I should say though. I kind of like to think he’s the Bard from Anerwear (sp?)

      Becky

      Like

  2. Interesting alternate titles.

    Like

    • Thanks, Meagan. I should ask Andrew if he ever considered them. 😉

      Becky

      Like

  3. […] you want to see what others on the tour are saying, see Becky Miller’s site where she updates all of the […]

    Like

  4. Wow, so cool to hear a whistleharp! I’m glad you found that link!
    I want to hear Andrew Peterson reading troll poetry, which looks like it has all kinds of rhythm and sound. Tried to send him a message asking that a couple months ago. Wonder if he got it?

    Like

    • Well, it wasn’t an actual whistleharp, but evidently it was close enough or Andrew would never have posted it. I wish I’d found that sooner. And oh, how great would that be to hear the troll poetry! I’d try him again if I were you, Phyllis. Maybe on Facebook.

      Becky

      Like

  5. As soon as I read that epigraph, back when I first got the book, I thought, “Someone is going to die, quite possibly Artham.” But it is beautiful poetry.

    Like

    • SPOILER ALERT! I don’t want to give too much away. Well, because this is just releasing officially today, I don’t want to give anything away. But it’s hard to talk about the book intelligently and not deal with . . . well, certain BIG events. Let’s just say, I saw potential for some things that happened and some I wish had happened. 😉 Is that cryptic enough?

      Becky

      Like

  6. […] you want to see what others on the tour are saying, see Becky Miller’s site where she updates all of the […]

    Like

  7. […] [Note: This post was written for the CSFF Blog Tour of The Warden and the Wolf King, running this week, and is cross-posted to my blog. For full links to the blog tour, visit Rebecca Miller's site.] […]

    Like

  8. Great title ideas, Rebecca!

    And btw, I did finally get my post up … sorry I didn’t get the book finished on time … the proper review will come soon.

    Like


Comments are closed.

