CSFF Blog Tour – One Realm Beyond by Donita Paul, Day 1

dragon

Dragons

Look wise,
say nothing,
and eat
only those
who annoy you.

Read DragonKeeper Chronicles.

It wasn’t intentional; I truly wasn’t trying to dress the part I would be playing later in the day. In fact I didn’t really think about it until I began to work on my post for this month’s CSFF feature: One Realm Beyond, the first in the Realm Walkers series by Donita Paul. Nevertheless, the tee shirt I pulled out of my closet, a favorite, pictures this dragon and that saying.

Yes, I got it some years ago in connection with Donita Paul’s earlier books.

Appropriate, then, that One Realm Beyond also has dragons. Of sorts.

One of the most inventive parts of Ms. Paul’s writing, in my opinion, is her development of interesting, unique species. Her earlier books had a wide array of both good and evil species, large and small. But on top of this assortment were various types of dragons as well–most good, some more intelligent than others, and one particular, rare species, the meech dragons, I believe, that were extraordinarily gifted.

In One Realm Beyond, the mor dragons reminded me a great deal of those meech dragons, only they’re a step up. Ms. Paul was not content to make the same dragon with a different name. She gave the mor dragons additional abilities. The most notable is their capacity to shapeshift.

We’re talking about an Odo from Deep Space Nine kind of ability to take the shape of objects or people or other animals.

These dragons also mingle with humans to the degree that they are seated together in fancy eating establishments, wear some clothing and/or accessories (at least the one who loves to shop does), and converse freely (though a dragon and his constant can also mind-speak).

I mentioned “inventive,” didn’t I?

In short, the dragons in the Realm Walker series are not your old school dragons.

I’ll have more to say about One Realm Beyond and post my review later in the tour, but for now you might want to check out what other participants are saying, including new members Mike Coville and Audrey Sauble.

Each check mark below links to a CSFF Tour article, so have some fun reading what others are talking about in connection to this book. Feel free to leave a comment and tell them Becky sent you. 😀

Gillian Adams
Julie Bihn
Keanan Brand
Beckie Burnham
Mike Coville
Pauline Creeden
Carol Gehringer
Rebekah Gyger
Janeen Ippolito
Jason Joyner
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Emileigh Latham
Jennette Mbewe
Shannon McDermott
Meagan @ Blooming with Books
Joan Nienhuis
Nissa
Donita K. Paul
Writer Rani
Audrey Sauble
Chawna Schroeder
James Somers
Jojo Sutis
Jessica Thomas
Steve Trower
Shane Werlinger
Jill Williamson

8 Comments

  1. Sounds like the mor dragons are a bit more convincing than Odo in their abilities though. At least in regard to humans. 😀
    Neat shirt!

    Like

    • Yes, the mor dragons were presented as convincing in the shapes they took on, but one was more gifted than most. The usual mor dragon could only take one or perhaps two other shapes, but our friend Bridger could take countless shapes, though he needed some recovery time, especially when he made himself small. Really such a fun character.

      And yes, I love the shirt. The dragon is also in blue, which is my favorite color. 😀

      Becky

      Like

  2. I thoroughly enjoyed both dragons in this book. They were two of the best characters.

    Like

    • I did too. I liked the fact that they were unique even though they were both mor dragons and siblings, at that. I’m always amazed at Donita’s ability to create such fun characters who enhance the story so much. I think I’m too serious in my writing. 😉

      Becky

      Like

  3. […] forget to tour the other participants reviewing and commenting about One Realm Beyond. I might especially point you to Shannon […]

    Like

  4. I have two posts up. 🙂 I’ll be posting my third later this evening.

    Like

    • Oops, phhsclass1993 is me. Darn WordPress.

      Jessica Thomas

      Like

  5. The Mor dragons remind me of those found in Anne Elisabeth Stengl’s Tales of Goldstone Wood. They disguise themselves as people also.

    Like


Comments are closed.