Wait In Silence

woman-praying-840879-mWaiting is hard, but in silence? Who waits in silence? Don’t we wait kicking and screaming? Or at best, fussing and fuming?

Frankly we don’t do much in silence these days. Walk into a mall, a store, a restaurant, and music is playing. Stop off at home and the TV, the XBox, the Internet is tossing pictures and sound at us. Many people add to the mix by playing music of their own choice in the cars or through their headsets.

Silence? It’s a shrinking commodity.

Yet God through the Psalmist David said, “My soul waits in silence for God only./ From Him is my salvation./ He only is my rock and my salvation, / My stronghold; I shall not be greatly shaken” (Psalm 62:1-2).

Maybe one problem contemporary Christians face is not having or making, time to wait in silence for God only. How can we understand Him to be our salvation, our rock, our stronghold, if we are too distracted to see Him or hear from Him?

And “distracted” is a good way of identifying the condition we’re in. For example, I sit down at my computer to answer my email. One item requires me to go to a web site to enter a contest. To do this, I must like this site on Facebook and Tweet the contest on Twitter. So now I open Facebook and see the myriad of notifications, some linking to articles, others commenting on posts I’ve written or responded to. I leave an additional comment and open one or two articles.

Then I remember I am answering email. I rush back to finish. Now I have a notice about LinkedIn, and click the link, only to recall that I’ve been trying to edit my profile to include the publication of Power Elements of Story Structure. And somehow that reminds me that I also need to check my Yahoo email account since that’s where people contact me for editing. Another chunk of time passes while I download and edit and reply.

Back to email, but there’s a notice of a new comment to the post I wrote yesterday at Spec Faith. I click on the link and answer the comment. How is it that I can’t stay ahead of the email?

Eventually I turn to the editing project before me, but not before the morning is gone and the afternoon well under way.

Now, as it looks, I will have “worked” all day, moving from distraction to distraction, and completing only two of the six items on my to do list.

My soul, wait in silence for God only.
For my hope is from Him.
He only is my rock and my salvation,
My stronghold; I shall not be shaken. (Ps. 62:5-6)

Second time around, it sounds as if David was scolding his soul for not waiting in silence. Verses 3 and 4 of the Psalm undergird that idea.

Apparently he was faced with betrayers trying to bring him down–perhaps Saul and his men before David became King, perhaps some other scenario after he was on the throne. But the point was, in the midst of focusing on God as his rock and his salvation, thoughts about these lovers of falsehood who blessed with their mouth but inwardly cursed, distracted him–pulled him away from his focus on God.

So he starts over, this time giving himself a shake: My soul, listen up. You need to wait in silence for God only.

Maybe that’s what we need today: a little shaking up, a little talking to so that we’ll stop the noise, turn off the music, and sit in silence in order to wait for God only.

After all, if we truly believe that He only is our rock and our salvation, our stronghold, then we should be happy to wait for Him. What choice do we have?

Of course our actions reveal our true beliefs. It’s so easy to say, I’d wait in silence for God if I only had more time. Or I’d wait in silence for God if only I could get away for five minutes from all the people in this household.

I tend to think that a decision to wait in silence for God only will cause us to find the quiet we need or the time we need. God will see to that. After all, James says, “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you” (James 4:8a).

Published in: on February 4, 2014 at 7:18 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: , , , ,

7 Comments

  1. Your blog blesses me every time I read it. This verse sustained me during more than one difficult time in my life, including the publication process of my book. That, like so many other things in life, wasn’t really about the book. It was about me, learning to wait in silence for God and God alone. Your remarks re the tyranny of enslavement to social media, the din of the world, and our own unwillingness just to sit still — I needed again, to be reminded. Thank you!

    Like

    • HG, thanks. So glad to hear how God has used this verse in your life. He’s great that way, you know? The more we listen to Him, the more He speaks through His Word to our immediate needs.

      Becky

      Like

  2. I love this, Becky! Not only your description of the incessant chatter that surrounds us in today’s society, but of how those Internet things (email, Facebook, Twitter, Blogging, LinkedIn, more email, Networking at every turn it seems) suck away not only our time, but our, or at least my mental energy. It’s a message that lately I’ve been hearing over and over. Loved, too, the references to Ps 62 and the soul waiting on God. Recently my pastor suggested we pay attention to when God repeats a phrase, because the repetition means it’s especially important. In this case, our souls waiting in silence on God because He only is our Rock: Pay attention! That’s important! Thanks for the reminder.

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, Karen. I remember you writing a post or two about the rabbit trails the Internet can lead us on. For some reason, I’ve been experiencing it more lately. Or maybe I just care more now, and feel as if I’ve been pushing these things to the front of the to do list when they really ought not to be there.

      I’ve also heard that the repetition in Jewish literature (or God inspired Scripture–not sure which) means the writer wanted to be sure the point gets through. A couple of the ways that the verses differ are what caught my attention. The first I mentioned here–David changed from making a statement (My soul waits) to a command (My soul, wait). The other thing is David’s response to the aspects of God’s character he noted. First, I shall not be greatly shaken (maybe a little roughed up, but not greatly), which changed to I shall not be shaken. Oh, yeah! David made a step of faith there, matured in the midst of the Psalm, it would seem.

      How rich God’s word is.

      Becky

      Like

      • Yes, indeed it is! And it just gets more so, the more we learn of it!

        Like

  3. Well put! You described things very well, and it is quite true that we need to MAKE the time. Excellent article! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you, David. Yes, making time is the key. I figure if I wouldn’t blow off an appointment with my boss or friend, then I should start making an appointment with God and treating that time with the same respect. And I’ve certainly found God to be faithful to His promise to draw near. He’s awesome that way! 😀

      Becky

      Like


Comments are closed.

