CSFF Blog Tour – By Darkness Hid, Day 1

I first became acquainted with Jill Williamson, author of this month’s CSFF Blog Tour feature, By Darkness Hid (Marcher Lord Press) a number of years ago, when she and her husband still lived in the Los Angeles area.

A small group of Christian speculative fiction writers got together one Saturday afternoon to talk writerly. We hung out together for hours comparing news and notes about the publishing world we were all still learning about.

One thing led to another, and before I realized it, Jill was probing me about the possibility of an edit. We worked out the details, and a few days later she sent me a hard copy of The Last Recruit, a YA suspense with some minor speculative elements.

I don’t know why I requested a hard copy. Up to that point, and ever since, I’d done all my editing on the computer. In this case, however, I was thankful I had the pages because, for the most part, I settled back and enjoyed a good story. I learned from that moment what a wonderful writer Jill is.

Imagine my surprise, then, when her first book came out two years later with Marcher Lord Press—a completely different story in an entirely different genre. By Darkness Hid is the first book in the adult/YA fantasy series Blood of Kings.

Happily, Jill included me as one of those who received a review copy of her book. I devoured the story and posted my review at Spec Faith.

As I said in my recommendation, By Darkness Hid is my kind of fantasy. It’s a fresh rendering of epic fantasy. Jill has done a great job creating sympathetic characters and lots of tension. The story zipped by.

Because I read the book over a year ago, I decided to skim it before the blog tour. As I read the first couple chapters, I soon found myself as hooked as I had been originally, and rather than skimming, I once again devoured the book whole.

I’ve been happy to discover that By Darkness Hid is receiving recognition by others as well. The review in Library Journal said that readers who enjoy Donita K. Paul and J. R. R. Tolkien will like By Darkness Hid. It’s one thing when a writer says, My story is just like C. S. Lewis or some other famous author. It’s an entirely different matter when a prestigious industry publication puts a work on the same plane as one of the greats.

In addition, By Darkness Hid has been nominated for the Clive Staples Award for Christian Speculative Fiction – Readers Choice, the Christy Awards – Visionary Category, and is a finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards. I suspect there are more awards in Jill’s future!

Take a look at what other CSFF members have to say about Jill and By Darkness Hid:

11 Comments

  1. Alright, you all are convincing me. I bought the book last year but never read it. I guess i’m going to have to give it a shot, what with everyone raving about it.

    Like

  2. So cool that you got in on this earlier than we did! It’s a wonderful book.

    Like

  3. I just read it..Finished it yesterday 🙂

    The only thing I wish there was in the book that would have really made it be right there for me would have been a spiritual angle. But as I was not expecting it, no big disappointment there.

    Like

  4. Actually to be more fair, a “stronger” spiritual angle. There was some there, just not what I would have liked 🙂

    P.s. You need an edit button Mrs. Miller!

    Like

  5. What a cool story! I really enjoyed the book as well. It deserves the nominations and high-end comparisons, imo.

    Off to write my review …

    Like

  6. Nice tidbits here :0). . .I loved this story. . .

    Like

  7. Thanks for the post, Becky! It seems so long ago that we were at the B&N in California. I’m still shopping that spy story around. It may find a home yet. Becky is a WONDERFUL editor, too, if anyone needs one.
    🙂
    Jill

    Like

  8. […] a reminder to stop by the blogs of other tour participants. You can see the list at the end of yesterday’s post. One you won’t want to miss is the terrific interview with Jill at New Authors […]

    Like

  9. I love the background story behind the story. 🙂 And, as usual, your posts are always well worth reading.

    Like

  10. Thanks for all the great input. I’m so happy others liked the book the way I did. It’s got a LOT going for it, and I’m so happy readers are discovering what a good writer Jill is.

    Becky

    Like

  11. […] More. Download Chapter One View book trailer Read CSFF Blog Tour articles – see complete list with links available Read recommendations of By Darkness Hid Read a review at TitleTrakk Read interviews with […]

    Like


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: