The Lost Genre Guild on Tour, Day 1

First, I want to apologize for my unannounced absence. It was unintentional, believe me. I’ve been battling the flu this past week, so blogging took a back seat, as I’m sure you understand.

I’m happy to come back this week to put a spotlight on the Lost Genre Guild as part of the CSFF Blog Tour. As you know, the tour usually features a fairly recent Christian speculative release by a traditional publisher, but from time to time we shift the focus to online endeavors that also promote the genre. Among others, we have featured Christian Fandom, The Sword Review, Mindflights, Wayfarer’s Journal, WhereTheMapEnds, and most recently, Marcher Lord Press. What these diverse sites have in common is Christian speculative fiction.

So, too, the Lost Genre Guild, the conception of Frank Creed and Daniel Weaver. Here is a mission statement:

The Lost Genre Guild’s mission is to promote quality works of Biblical Speculative Fiction (spec-fic) through its authors, fans; to endorse new releases that fit this criteria; and of course, to glorify Him.

As near as I can piece the development of the Guild, Frank started the group as an online place for writers who shared a similar passion for the genre to converse. The original members all belonged to Daniel’s critique group and from those members came the idea to publish an anthology of short stories. This endeavor became Light at the Edge of Darkness, edited by Cynthia MacKinnon and published by The Writers’ Cafe Press.

Since then, the Guild has taken off as an online gathering place for writers and fans of Biblical speculative fiction, with a forum, a blog, and any number of affiliated groups.

So for the next couple days, I’ll be exploring some issues that the Guild raises. Of course, we have a good number of participants on this tour, so I recommend you take some of your down time, now that the Christmas rush has slowed to the New Years steady stream, and stop by to read what these bloggers are saying:

Published in: on December 29, 2008 at 1:57 pm  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

9 Comments

  1. Becky,

    I always enjoy reading your comments about such things. I’m looking forward to your thoughts in the coming days regarding LGG.

    Mike

    Like

  2. Becky–
    Sorry you were down for Christmas, and glad you’re feeling better.
    You got the history right: Daniel I. Weaver switched art-forms, from writing to music. I’d asked Daniel to found the guild with me back in 2006, but he declined. The important thing is the difference we all make together for our genre. One that that impacts the lives of real people, for His glory. Storing up treasure, or as the Irish say: whiskey in the jar.

    Faith,
    f

    Like

  3. I am new to this “scene” and I am enjoying the online community. I am also gladly joining into the chorus: “We want more Christian speculative fiction. We want more. We want more. We want more.” Ewww, now I’m starting to sound like a political campaign rally.

    Like

  4. The flu – – YUCK!! So sorry you have been under the weather! So happy to see things getting back on track here! I’m looking forward to learning more about speculative fiction! I’ve got a book in my TBR pile now that looks like Mary and Joseph with light sabers! Hmmmm…..

    Like

  5. I’m working on mine, Rebecca. I should be up within an hour.

    Like

  6. […] Rebecca LuElla Miller has a brief overview of the history of the guild and has a check list of who’s actually posted on the tour (obviously I wasn’t checked ye t when I visited) […]

    Like

  7. Thanks for this opportunity. LGG has meant so much to so many of us. It literally changed my life. I couldn’t even do an “objective” review on my blog. ( http://www.wayfarersjournal.com/blog.htm ) Instead, I told something of my personal journey back to fiction and how important LGG was in that journey.

    I believe that LGG will be at the center of the development of this genre for years to come.

    Like

  8. Great comments, all. Sorry I wasn’t on top of my game to get back here and answer each one individually. Thanks for stopping by and for taking the time to give your feedback.

    Becky

    Like

  9. […] Rebecca LuElla Miller has a brief overview of the history of the guild and has a check list of who’s actually posted on the tour (obviously I wasn’t checked ye t when I visited) […]

    Like


Comments are closed.

