The Son, the Child

I confess that there have been years when I feel a little jaded about Christmas. No, not because of the commercialization of it all, though I’ve had years like that, too. More it has to do with hearing Christmas sermons that seem … less than enlightening.

I suppose some pastors do struggle with what to say five or ten years into their ministry when they’ve already delivered messages about the shepherds, the angels, the wisemen, the innkeeper, Joseph, Mary. What’s left?

Well, the Son is, and it seems to me there is limitless material for sermons. I have to say, my pastor has hit a homerun with his special Christmas series this past month. It has been timely, Christ centered, enlightening, Biblical. Good, good stuff.

But one of the new insights I gained this year came from a sermon I heard on the radio, delivered by Alister Begg (Truth for Life). The series is from Isaiah 9:

The people who walk in darkness
Will see a great light …
For a child will be born to us, a son will be given to us;
And the government will rest on His shoulders;
And His name will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God
Eternal Father, Prince of Peace.

A familiar passage, to be sure, not unusual for a Christmas time sermon or series. So what new thing did I learn? Not a new thing, really, but something I didn’t realize this passage upholds.

It has to do with the line, For a child will be born to us, a son will be given to us. I’ve always looked at that as an example of Jewish poetic redundancy (I think there’s a real name for it), something you often see in the Psalms and in Proverbs (ie, Do not let kindness and truth leave you/Bind them around your neck”).

But here’s the point I was reminded of: When God inspired the writers of Scripture, He delivered exactly the words He wanted that would communicate truth, nuanced truth that allows us to uncover layers and layers and layers throughout our whole lives.

Pastor Begg pointed out in the verse above that Scripture does not say, for a Son will be born to us, a child will be given. The Son is preexistent. He was with the Father in the beginning. He was not born that first Christmas day. But a Child was—God incarnate, the Son come down.

A small word order, but it carries a wonderful truth!

Published in: on December 23, 2008 at 11:28 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , ,

5 Comments

  1. Very subtle, but nice point! That’s a great passage in Isaiah. I appreciate the reminder that His arrival was spoken of well before His actual coming. (I’ve been conversing with non-believers a lot lately, and sometimes after combatting all that skepticism, and sometimes derision, I feel a little “drained”.) I like listening to Alister Begg. I like what he says, and the accent doesn’t hurt one bit!

    Like

  2. Becky, thanks for sharing that truth! That has amazing power behind it. How true, a child was born, but a Son was Given! How wonderful a picture of our loving Lord, Father and King.

    Like

  3. Oh I love Alistair’s accent, too.

    And neat point he made about that passage.

    I also like that Jesus is called Everlasting Father in that passage. For those who think Jesus is a god but not The God, this passage would be good, I think.

    Like

  4. Becky –
    What a beautiful post! I pray your Christmas is filled with love and laughter and many special blessings!

    Like

  5. Heh. Even my 7 year old complained, “Why are we reading the Christmas story (Luke 2)? We already know it.” So I went to that passage in Isaiah to give my boys a new take, show them the way Jesus was prophesied long before. The point there is a good one to note. Thanks for sharing.

    BTW, the poetic repeating is called a parallelism. Again, God knows exactly what He is doing. By basing poetry off something like parallelism, instead of rhyming, it can be translated to any language and get the point across. (I feel like I’ve been the guy in the back offering [hopefully] helpful little tidbits the last few weeks).

    Merry Christmas!

    Like


Comments are closed.

