Stuff You Probably Don’t Want to Know, but … I Was Tagged

After all this time of avoiding being tagged, I’ve been hit twice within the last week. Today’s came from Heather over at the ‘view from Stonewater and the topic is “8 Random Facts About Myself.”

The first rule of the game, however, is to post the rules of the game. Here they are:

  • Each player starts with eight random facts/habits about themselves.
  • People who are tagged need to write their own blog about their eight things and post these rules.
  • At the end of your blog, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names.
  • Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.
  • So here we go.
    1. I traveled alone by bus from Mexico City to Denver, Colorado. Long story, but this came at the end of a summer in Mexico when I’d taken a couple classes at the University of Mexico, UNAM.

    2. I lived in Tanzania, East Africa, for a year. I would never have been in Mexico that summer if I hadn’t first lived in Tanzania. Being genuinely abroad (not just driving across the Mexican or Canadian border and back) changed my worldview.

    3. I never graduated from high school. OK, I said that for dramatic effect. 😉 I have a high school diploma but didn’t go to school my senior year. (More dramatic effect). What I did do was study by correspondence courses from the University of Nebraska. (See number 2). And I received my diploma in absentia, so never crossed the stage.

    4. At one point, my dad, mom, sister, brother, grandmother, and I were all teachers. OK, not sure about my grandmother. I think she was still teaching literacy to adults, but I could be wrong.

    5. When I was in high school, I wanted to be a math major and teach math. (I majored in English, minored in history, and taught English and Bible for thirty years. 😛 )

    6. See the parentheses in number five.

    7. My most favorite place in the world is anywhere above timberline!

    8. My favorite sport is the one I’m playing at the time, but I played more volleyball than anything. Even have a couple church league tee shirts to prove it. 😀

    And now, I get to DO the tagging. I guess turnabout’s fair play, so I’ll start with Jason Joyner. Seven more: Christopher Hopper, Wayne Thomas Batson, Bryan Davis, Donita K. Paul, Rachel Marks, John W. Otte, and Katie Popa.

    Tomorrow, thoughts on satire.

    Published in: on May 7, 2007 at 11:32 am  Comments (12)  

    12 Comments

    1. Fascinating stuff. Fascninating life.

      Like

    2. Hey Becky, thanks for playing!! Ooo, living in Tanzania for a year. I’m dripping with jealousy. That sounds fascinating. Worthy of its own post, perhaps? Pretty please?

      Like

    3. Wow, you had all kinds of fun. What am I gonna put? Changed diapers for 10 years straight…

      😛

      Like

    4. Heather, living in Tanzania certainly made a difference in my life—one of those great things where you can see God’s hand even when things at the time might have looked bleak. I was a senior in high school and about the last thing I wanted to do was leave my friends, my school.

      Sally … 😀 Nothing really fascinating about my life, I don’t think. Yes, I’ve had some very fun experiences, but at the time, so often I didn’t know it was anything special.

      Rachel, you make me laugh!! Yep, the diaper thing puts you in a special category, too! The category that allows you to look forward to your kids one day blessing you because of your faithful care for them. I’m looking forward to whatelse you’ve got. 😉

      Becky

      Like

    5. I got tagged yesterday, with the same thing 🙂

      Like

    6. They’s is posted… 😀

      Like

    7. Becky,
      Your list of 8 random things was fantastic! I especially loved the “wanted to be a math major.” My husband teaches what I call “Scary Math.” (Algebra, Geometry, Calculus, etc.) As far as I’m concerned, Math has so many imaginary characters in it (A-Sub-O, B-Sub-O) that it should be considered Fantasy. 🙂
      Blessings–

      Like

    8. How fun! I got tagged too – this is worse than the flu! (But way more fun.)

      Like

    9. Heh…I posted, all un-tagged and all: http://invalslittleworld.blogspot.com/2007/05/8-random-facts-about-me.html

      Like

    10. Thanks for stopping by my site! Are you an “Amazing Race” fan because you’ve lived in other countries? I moved my senior year too, but it was only 30 miles away from where I had lived before we moved. (Nothing as exciting as another country and culture.) I also wanted to let you know that we have another thing in common–your name is the same as my Mom’s name (except her middle name is Ann)! Thanks for your insightful reviews. It’s nice to see someone actually “think” about a book and the way it’s written. 🙂

      Like

    11. […] recently was “tagged” in a “blog game” by Becky Miller, to list 8 interesting facts about myself, and then tag 8 other friend. The first rule of the game, […]

      Like

    12. Merrie, Heather, thanks for your comments.

      Rebecca, Valerie, how fun that you’re playing too. Whoever came up with this one did a good thing. 😉

      Becky

      Like


    Comments are closed.

