CSFF Blog Tour – Storm by Evan Angler, Day 1

SWIPE_coverThis week the CSFF Blog Tour is featuring a middle grade apocalyptic dystopian Storm, third in the Swipe series by Evan Angler. Except . . . Evan Angler is a fictitious character and actually a part time character in the book. In fact, the books are also part of the story. But I’m getting ahead of myself.

When I read the blurb about the first book in the series, Swipe, I have to admit I pigeonholed the story as “typical end times fiction.” As innovative and intriguing and popular as Jerry Jenkins Left Behind series was in the beginning, the sheer length of his story wore people out, I think. At any rate, even I, who never read the Left Behind books, have some end-times weariness. I wasn’t looking to read someone else’s idea of what the end times will be like.

Well, surprise. The Swipe books are not your last generation end times stories.

They are, first of all, featuring young people, not adults. Most noticeably, however, is the fact that the cataclysmic events central to the story are handled as part of a natural chain of circumstances. No one is pointing to Scriptural parallels or calling for repentance. Spiritual things are a part of the story, to be sure, but primarily the characters are concerned with how to survive.

Add in the recent news events surrounding identity theft, government surveillance (also called “spying programs” by some), national security leaks and the global manhunt for Edward Snowden, the Benghazi incident with the government’s release of false information and what appears to be a positional reward for the ambassador who took the heat, and the story of Swipe suddenly seems more plausible than fictitious.

Here’s a part of the description of Swipe that explains the key element in the book:

Set in a future North America that is struggling to recover after famine and global war, Swipe follows the lives of three kids caught in the middle of a conflict they didn’t even know existed. United under a charismatic leader, every citizen of the American Union is required to get the Mark on their 13th birthday in order to gain the benefits of citizenship.

The Mark is a tattoo that must be swiped by special scanners for everything from employment to transportation to shopping.

For more about this intriguing series, I encourage you to stop by Evan Angler’s site and view the trailers for all three books. Also be sure to visit the blogs of the other CSFFers participating in this tour (reminder, check marks link you to articles I have found):

3 Comments

  1. I’ve never read the Left Behind books (in fact I’ve never had any desire to do so), but I love these books. I like your comparisions to what is in the news now to these books.

  2. […] the writing a bit too “in your face.” I don’t even know what that means. Luckily Becky Miller explained it to me. Apparently, Evan Angler is not only the author, but also a character in the […]

  3. […] can find the entire list of participants at the end of my Day 1 post, and I suggest you take a few moments to check out a couple of these articles. Why not leave a […]


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,639 other followers

